

■ IAPR INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE ON MACHINE VISION APPLICATIONS

FINAL CALL FOR PAPERS

May 18-22, 2015

National Museum of Emerging Science and Innovation, Tokyo, Japan

General Co-Chairs

Yasuyo KITA (AIST) Hiroshi ISHIKAWA (Waseda University)

The Fourteenth IAPR International Conference on Machine Vision Applications will be held at the MIRAIKAN: National Museum of Emerging Science and Innovation in Tokyo, Japan from May 18 through 22, 2015. The conference is co-sponsored by the MVA Organization, IAPR TC-8 and AIST JAPAN. The aim of this conference is to bring together researchers and practitioners from both academia and industry, and to stimulate the exchange of knowledge through intensive discussions on the cutting-edge research topics listed below.

Program Co-Chairs

Takeshi MASUDA (AIST) Björn STENGER (Toshiba Research Europe)



Night view of ODAIBA, near the conference site

Main Topic: Machine Vision and its Applications

Sensing

Vision Sensors, Sensors for 3D / Motion, Shape from X, Optical Phenomenon Sensing, Color / Multiband, Invisible Wavelength Imaging, Registration / Alignment, Calibration **Algorithms**

Feature Extraction, Shape / Motion / Deformation Analysis, Change and Background, Tracking, Color / Multiband Analysis, Segmentation, Pattern Recognition, Object Recognition, Statistical Image Processing, Large-Scale Data Analysis, Image Processing System Architecture

Applications

• Factory Automation and Robotics: Visual Inspection, Diagnosis, Assembly, Mobile Robot, Digital Fabrication, Service Robot, Rescue Robot

- Intelligent Transport Systems: Traffic Monitoring, Autonomous Vehicles, Driving Safety Assistance
- **Surveillance:** Security Monitoring, Camera Network, Remote Sensing, Underwater
- **Human Computer Interaction:** Face / Gesture / Behavior / Gait, Gaze Analysis, Biometrics, Wearable Computing, First Person Vision
- **Biomedical:** Tomography, Endoscopy, Computer-Aided Diagnosis, Computer Assisted Surgery, Computational Anatomy, Bioinformatics, Nursing Care
- ·**Multimedia:** Database Archiving and Retrieval, Document, Culture and Heritage, VR / MR / AR, Entertainment
- · **Life:** Agriculture / Forestry / Fishery, Civil / Construction Engineering, Commerce, Sports, Fashion, Home, Science

REGISTRATION POLICY: At least one of the authors of an accepted paper is required to register for the conference and must present the paper at the conference.

AWARDS: Presented papers will be considered for *Best Paper Award*, *Best Practical Paper Award*, and *Best Poster Award*.

PUBLICATION: Award-winning papers will be recommended to a special issue of an international journal. Presented papers are encouraged to be submitted to CVA journal with substantial extension as a regular paper with benefits of review process and publication fee subsidy.

Important Dates

Full Paper (4 pages) Submission Deadline:

Notification of Acceptance:

Camera-Ready Manuscripts Deadline:

December 12, 2014

February 20, 2015

March 20, 2015

Sponsors: MVA Organization, IAPR TC-8 and AIST JAPAN





IAPR Invited Talks: At the conference, the following IAPR Invited talks are scheduled:

Prof. J. K. (Jake) Aggarwal (The University of Texas at Austin) "Recognition of Human Activities and Emotions"

Prof. Tomas Pajdla (Czech Technical University in Prague)

"3D Reconstruction from Photographs - Principles and Applications" **Prof. Johji Tajima** (Nagoya City University)

"Color Image processing from the physical, psychological and biological viewpoints"

MVA CONFERENCE COMMITTEE

General Co-Chairs

Yasuyo KITA (AIST)

Hiroshi ISHIKAWA (Waseda University)

Publication Co-Chairs

Norimichi UKITA (NAIST) Eigo SEGAWA (Fujitsu)

Norichika YUI (Advanced Communication Media)

Financial Co-Chairs

Yoshihisa IJIRI (OMRON) Ryuzo OKADA (Toshiba)

Publicity Co-Chairs

Kunio NOBORI (Panasonic) Ichiro IDE (Nagoya University)

Joachim DENZLER (Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena)

Greg MORI (Simon Fraser University)

Hongbin ZHA (Peking University)

Web Co-Chairs

Shiro KUMANO (NTT)

Yoshihiko MOCHIZUKI (Waseda University)

Kouta FUJIMURA (Factory Vision Solutions) Yohei MINEKAWA (Hitachi)

Koichiro YAMAGUCHI (Toyota Central R&D Labs.)

Masakazu EJIRI (R&D consultant) Katsushi IKEUCHI (The University of Tokyo)

Masatsugu KIDODE (NAIST)

Yoichi SATO (The University of Tokyo)

Akihiro SUGIMOTO (NII) Masaaki MOCHIMARU (AIST)

Program Co-Chairs

Takeshi MASUDA (AIST)

Björn STENGER (Toshiba Research Europe)

Poster Co-Chairs

Takuya FUNATOMI (Kyoto University)

Tutorial Co-Chairs

Kyoko SUDO (NTT)

Hitoshi HABE (Kinki University)

Technical Event Co-Chairs

Noriko SHIMOMURA (Nissan) Shotaro MIWA (Mitsubishi Electric)

Local Arrangement Co-Chairs

Shunsuke KUDOH (The Univ. of Electro-Communications)

Shuntaro YAMAZAKI (AIST) Masaki ONISHI (AIST)

Secretaries

Yoshiko MATSUURA (The University of Tokyo) Toshiko KABASHIMA (Keio University)

Organizing Committee Members

Takahiro YOSHIOKA (Fujitsu Laboratories)

Masato ISHII (NEC)

Yuko UEMATSU (Secom)

Mitsuru AMBAI (Denso IT Laboratory) Takayuki SEMITSU (Mitsubishi Electric)

Advisory Board Members

Hideo SAITO (Keio University)

Katsuhiko SAKAUE (AIST)

Shigeru SASAKI (Fujitsu) Johji TAJIMA (Nagoya City University)

Hiroshi SAKO

Conference Advisory Board Members

Masaki SUWA (OMRON)

Kazuhiro SUMI (Aoyama Gakuin University)
Darius BURSCHKA (Technische Universitat Munchen)

Shigeki SUGANO (Waseda University) Eiichi YOSHIDA (AIST)

Program Committee Members

Moataz ABDELWAHAB	Igor GUROV	Yoshinori KUNO	Hiroshi NAGAHASHI	Shiguang SHAN
J. K. AGGARWAL	Manabu HASHIMOTO	Takio KURITA	Hiroaki NAKAI	Yusuke SUGANO
Philippe BOLON	Ki-sang HONG	Makoto KURUMISAWA	Akio NAKAMURA	Yasuhiro TANIGUCHI
Pierre BOULANGER	Hui-Yu HUANG	Raphaël LABAYRADE	Yuichi NAKAMURA	Masashi TODA
Aurélio CAMPILHO	Mattias JOHANNESSON	Shiying LI	Frank NIELSEN	Akihiko TORII
Sharat CHANDRAN	Pieter P. JONKER	Tyng-Luh LIU	Heinrich NIEMANN	Du-Ming TSAI
Chia-Yen CHEN	Masataka KAGESAWA	Bao-Liang LU	Munetoshi NUMADA	Akira UTSUMI
Cheng-Chieh CHIANG	Sei-ichiro KAMATA	Atsuto MAKI	Kazunori ONOGUCHI	Koji WAKIMOTO
Naoki CHIBA	Shun'ichi KANEKO	Geovanni MARTINEZ	Soon-Yong PARK	Paul WHELAN
Tae Eun CHOE	Hiroshi KANO	Piotr MIROWSKI	Erik RODNER	Toshihiko YAMASAKI
Sonya COLEMAN	Abdelaziz KHIAT	Guillaume MOREAU	Takeshi SAITOH	Takayoshi YAMASHITA
Franck DAVOINE	Makoto KIMURA	Daniel MORRIS	Shin'ichi SATOH	Kimitoshi YAMAZAKI
Robert FISHER	Itaru KITAHARA	Yasuhiro	Shuji SENDA	June-Ho YI
Hironobu FUJIYOSHI	Reinhard KLETTE	MUKAIGAWA	Myriam SERVIÈRES	Pong C YUEN
Guy GODIN	Hiroyasu KOSHIMIZU	Vittorio MURINO	Takeshi SHAKUNAGA	Huijing ZHAO

For more details, please visit http://www.mva-org.jp/ or contact: MVA Organization, c/o Prof. Hideo SAITO

